She seems sad

Every time I look at this picture I get the sense that this girl is sad. Maybe it is just the set of her mouth and the angle of her look – slightly upward – but she seems melancholy. This is a CdV from a batch I bought online. The girl is around 10 years old, I’m guessing. She has her hair pulled back and held with a headband, she is holding a flower in her hand, lounging on a chair, no stockings, only socks. She also has a necklace over her dress, at the collar. I do not know when the likeness was made.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Far Side of Fifty
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 18:09:18

    She does look sad. I am curious about the dark color fabric at the waist..I wonder if the dress was to short and was reworked? :)

    Reply

  2. IntenseGuy
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 18:16:49

    She does have some haunting eyes. I can’t tell for the life of me what she is sitting/reposing on. At first I thought a concrete bench – but the more I looked the more I thought it was the base of a statue or cemetary monument.

    Reply

  3. IntenseGuy
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 13:18:35

    In a recent “date the picture” exercise that the two of us did, I learned that formed concrete such as shown in the picture did not appear in the US until 1871-1872 when it was first used in an arch bridge in Brooklyn. Looking at the bridge side wall – and this one – they are of the same general architecture.

    Reply

    • mrsmarvel
      Oct 28, 2010 @ 11:20:38

      That’s good information, and it makes me realize the little pieces from here and there that help us date photos, clothing, antique devices, etc. Who can remember all this stuff? Those of us who love history, I suppose. :-)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

