Trunk Family Reunion

While I still have a few more photos to feature from the Benedicta Trunk album, today I will be mailing the photo album to her grand niece Thea. Thea kindly allowed me to complete the postings of the photos during our phone call the other day. Thea is really a very nice lady and told me she has shared the website with family members. I’m hopeful that they will comment if they know anything about those folks featured.

Remember Me

This is the album – it’s made of something like plastic, which I believe might be celluloid. Having done so much work on this, I will definitely remember!

PS go Steelers!

In other family reunion news, I got a note from Irene Monroe‘s great granddaughter, and she has received the cabinet cards. She plans to have copies made for Irene’s granddaughter and grandson, and also some cousins. The family didn’t know much about Irene as a young woman and definitely not about her brother or mother, so what a great feeling to know they will be getting that glimpse at their ancestors!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. IntenseGuy
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 13:08:47

    :)

    That is a beautiful cover – regardless of the material – it is so nice that so many someones will be “remembering her”.

    :)

    Reply

  2. Auntie Kat
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 15:11:21

    This is so great that the album and the family can be reunited. The photos will now be treasured even more. Great work for all the research that was done by everyone. Looking forward to the next series.

    Reply

  3. glmonroe2001
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 00:24:37

    Hi! I am Frederick Monroe’s (9/18/1900 to 10/08/1987) grandson. My sister found this site recently while researching our family tree. She has quite a bit of information including letters from Irene Shoemaker. If the page is still being monitored, we can probably fill in lots of gaps.

    Reply

    • Mrs Marvel
      Jul 14, 2014 @ 21:10:47

      Hello! I would love to hear whatever you have to share. I continue to be captivated by Irene’s lovely countenance.

      Reply

  4. glmonroe2001
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 05:57:03

    Okay, here’s more info. My sister has literally hundreds of letters from the family. She has letters between Irene Shoemaker and Frederick Monroe when they were courting. Since he traveled a lot, there are lots of letters. My sister also has many pictures. We called Jane Alsperger last night and she lives just a few hours from my sister so they are going to get together in the next few weeks. I do have some scanned letters from Irene and some family tree information that I can put online, but I need to figure out how to do that.

    To update your family tree information. Frederick Hamilton Monroe Jr (9/18/1900 – 10/8/87), Irene’s son and my grandad, married Romelia Virginia Ruff (10/2/1906, Tupelo, MS – 12/6/1988) on 9/26/1936.

    We’ve notice different birthdates for Frederick Hamilton Monroe Jr and we have confirmed that the above birthdates are correct and have this date in his own handrwriting.

    I will post more info in the coming days. If you have any specific questions, please let me know and we’ll do our best to answer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

