Navy man

photo-50

 

This handsome Navy man was photographed in the 1920s at the Paeszler Studio in Ada, Ohio. The photographer, Clara Paeszler, opened her studio in 1897 in the Ada area. She took many photographs during her tenure, but died in 1921. In 1922, the photographer, her studio was sold to her assistant, Brian F. Frederick and he maintained the studio name. From what I can find, the studio was prolific and successful up until that point. After that there is very little mention with dates.

I do so wonder, after having updated my Farrell Infants post whether this is Richard W. Farrell the navy officer? The uniform looks a bit like a cadet uniform to me. Anyone who can comment further is welcome!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. IntenseGuy
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 13:15:42

    Well, if Dick Farrell was born circa 1913, this couldn’t be him (the photo is definitely one of a 1918-20-ish era uniform), he would only be 7-9 years old.

    Bert Farrell was listed as a Civil Engineer for the Great Lakes Engineering Works in the 1920 US Census. This is the company that built the Edmund Fitzgerald (the one that sank…) Perhaps this is someone the family knew and someone that inspired Richard to enter the Navy Academy and become an officer.

    http://www.mhsd.org/publications/GLEW/default.htm

    Reply

  2. Colleen Kopchick
    Feb 18, 2014 @ 13:24:39

    This doesn’t look like Dick Farrell. I posted my original comment under Farrell Infants photo. The family did live in Ada, OH. I’m assuming all these photos were found together. Possibly belonged to a friend or relative. I may be able to identify him if I look through my old photos or email this to my father in FL, Rhea’s son.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

